Drawing Stories

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was introduced to ‘Drawing Stories’ at the recent Early Years Conference in Melbourne. We tried them out this week. The idea is the teacher models drawing and story and talks the children through the story as she draws. I added ‘talking bubbles’ to the story to also give the children opportunities to ‘write’. The children did a great job. We shared our stories around the circle. I tried to write the stories, but some were so long and complex – I needed to use a video. It is a way of extending children’s language and finding out what they know about topics that interest them. We based our first stories around a common topic – our Sensory Snakes – but I would like the children to initiate their own topics in the future. We will add this to our program once a week.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *