Technology and Easter

 

 

 

 

 

Staff recently participated in a STEAM PD.  Our challenge this week was to integrate this new learning with Easter.  We set the children a challenge to make a house for two fluffy chicks using any building materials they could find.  Then we interviewed the children to determine their thinking during the challenge and to ensure a language element was added to the challenge.

Here are the conversations:

 

Tell me about your house.

The chicky goes in the house

How did you build it?

Out of blocks

What were you thinking about?

I was thinking about that there was no door.

 

Tell me about your house.

Cribby House (from an old video game) The chicks are called Crebby and Mummy.

How did you build it?

With glass bricks and blocks and LEGO

What were you thinking about?

Playing with it.

What is this bit at the top?

It’s a tree for a shady bit.

 

Tell me about your house.

See how I put the blocks on.

The chickys stay in.

How did you build it?

That’s their roof

What were you thinking about?

Something ate the chicky’s brains. I don’t know how I was thinking about that. It just go into my head.

The chicky’s are called Freddy and Fluffy.

 

Tell me about your house.

Them live in it.

How did you build it?

Around and around

What were you thinking about?

Them look good. This one here is the door (Removes the blue block to show me)

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *